The Engineering Design Graphics Memorial Award (The Payne Award)

Given By: The Executive Committee of the Engineering Design Graphics Division.
Complete List of Awardees


The Memorial Award is established in recognition of Rodger Payne who, during his association with our Division, epitomized the best in industrial and educational cooperation, was a strong supporter of graphics education, and became a true friend to each member who knew him.


  1. This award is given to an individual, who over a period of time demonstrates support and encouragement to our Division as was demonstrated by Rodger Payne of Autodesk, Inc.
  2. This award is non-competitive.
  3. This award is not given regularly. Instead it is reserved to recognize an extraordinary level of industrial support.


The Memorial Award is a yearlong process.

The Nominating Committee of the Engineering Design Graphics Division will propose an individual for the Memorial Award at a Midyear Meeting. This nomination will be active for a period of one year-from that Midyear Meeting to the next. During that time the nominee is not notified but the nominating committee will gather letters or testimonials in support of the nomination. The Chair of the Nominating Committee presents the documentation to the Executive Committee at the second Midyear Meeting. The Executive Committee votes by simple majority to approve the nomination.


The award will be a framed citation.

The Chair will make all effort to have the awardee in attendance at the second Midyear Meeting where the award will be given at the awards dinner. Additionally, notice of the award will be published in the following Winter Issue of The Journal.